The town of Ambleside at the North end of Lake Windermere is one of the main hiking, walking and tourist centres in the southern half of The English Lake District. The above photo of The 300 year old Bridge House is the classic image that marks the town.
It's original use was a river crossing over The Stock Ghyll with a room upstairs to store Apples from the orchards of Ambleside Hall.
Later it had connections to the mill industry for a short time before becoming a home to a furniture craftsman called 'Chairy" Rigg. His wife and six children lived in this two roomed house that was deemed luxury at the time. Other 20th century uses were a shoe repairer, an antique dealer and a plant seller. In 1926 a group of early preservationists including Beatrix Potter's husband bought the unique building and donated it to The National Trust for all to enjoy. In 1956 it became The National Trust's first visitor information centre.
|21st century use of water !!|
|Keeping an eye on business !!|
|Awaiting the menu|
|Throwing light on the ever increasing number of outdoor shops|
|A mountain to climb ?|
|... even the seats are talking about it !!|
|Boats settling ....|
|... down for the night|
|Time to think about ...|
|... heading back to the B & B ...|
|... to be welcomed by Skip !! ...|